Space Junque (Apocalypto, #1) by L.K. Rigel

space junque

Photobucket
(also known as Samael’s Fire)

The DOGs want to destroy the world. The gods want to make a new one. The trick is to survive both.

At the end of the 21st century, civilization is at the brink of collapse. When hydroponics agronomist Char Meadowlark is warned of an impending attack by the eco-terrorist group Defenders of Gaia, she flees to the airport hoping to get off planet. The DOGs strike in the midst of Char’s escape, and pilot Jake Ardri offers her only hope of survival. He takes her to the orbiting Imperial Space Station, the seat of world government.

When the conflict goes global and the planet threatens to implode, ancient gods return to take control of humanity and impose a new world order. Char and Jake are caught up in a divine plan to save the world – but first they have to get through the apocalypse alive.

I read this book while on vacation.

I’m not really sure what to say about this book. I initially bought this trilogy (yes, I bought all of them sight unseen again) for three reasons:

1. To support the author when publisher HarperCollins copied the beautiful cover of her newly released book Spiderwork.
See Here: What’s a Little Cover Art Copying Between Friends?

2. Because I’m a coverwhore and a book hoarder. I couldn’t just buy book two, I had to buy the trilogy. I mean, look at this cover!

SpiderworkFinis spiderwork full

3. The book had tons of rave reviews. What could go wrong? (famous last words)

Well, I found the story entertaining enough but it was easy to put down and I doubt that I would have finished it if I had not been on vacation.

Other than that, I found a lack of world building and descriptive prose. The set up – how the world got to the state it was in – was well described. The problems started to come in with little things:

- What exactly are the enhancements (options, history, side-effects)?
- I didn’t understand the motivation for the main male antagonist (cardboard character, can’t remember his name).
- I didn’t believe the romance between the H/h. It just…seemed to be part of the plot and *so it was.*
- No real explanation for entire situation with the heroine’s sister, Sky. And if one person can reach her…why can’t anyone else?
- Can’t really understand the purpose of the DoGs nuking everything. I mean, I get the reason given but it makes no sense. If the DoGs want to destroy tech and save the planet…nukes don’t make sense. But maybe that’s just me and maybe they’re special nukes.

And I don’t want to even get into trying to figure out how the book jumped from a Science Fiction dystopian to a Science Fiction dystopian Romance to a Space Opera Fantasy Romance complete with Gods and Fertility Goddesses. O_o

So, I don’t have any real interest in reading books 2 & 3 but I own them. Maybe the next time I get a chance at a vacation.

Just to be fair, a lot of people really enjoyed this book quite a bit. I can’t help but to wonder what genre those people generally read. I want to say that I doubt that most of them read as much SFF as they do Romance. I say that because I believe that a lot of my problems with worldbuilding and characterization/motivation would be a bigger deal breaker for SFF readers.

 

 

 

Note: The name of this book has been changed to Samael’s Fire and the cover changed to: samaels fire (space junque)

Leave a Reply

