Grave Peril by Jim Butcher (The Dresden Files, #3)

grave peril

In all his years of supernatural sleuthing, Harry Dresden has never faced anything like this: the spirit world’s gone postal. These ghosts are tormented, violent, and deadly. Someone-or something-is purposely stirring them up to wreak unearthly havoc. But why? If Harry doesn’t figure it out soon, he could wind up a ghost himself.

I have to admit that I never finished reading book 2: Fool Moon (stopping at about 38%) so I missed a few things.

Something is stirring up trouble in the Nevernever. Ghosts are being tortured – which is making them angry (and thus more powerful). This ghost torture is allowing more angry ghosts than ever to get loose to attack and kill innocents. Harry is in a race to find out what is stirring up the ghosts before it’s too late.

This is not really a review as I have my issues. I both enjoyed and disliked this book – and here are the reasons why:

I really like Harry – he’s an endearing character. I love the way he wants to do right by everyone.

I also noticed that while in the first two books Harry got into trouble by not giving enough information to people – this time everyone had the necessary information to help out Harry (and Michael) and no one gave it to him. Unlike the rest of the people in Harry’s life who got angry at him for not informing them – Harry doesn’t get upset at all. He seems to take it all in stride.

This book had a lot more action than the last books and spent less time showing Harry getting into trouble (with his friends). It does show Harry getting into trouble with everyone else. The lack of fighting with friends was a great improvement to the storyline (to me).

Dislikes – I dislike Micheal’s character, he’s a little too “righteous” to me. I get tired of his disapproval of Harry when it’s Harry who is saving everyone’s life. There’s also the fact that either Harry makes Michael look like a prig or Michael makes Harry look like a bit of a whiner.

I dislike Susan. A lot. I really dislike Susan and her desire to use Harry for a story and her career rather than just paying attention to what Harry says. No matter how many different ways Harry says “this information could kill you and/or me” she just kept right at it. I guess she felt she was safe…till she wasn’t. So, I could give a rat’s ass what happens to Susan…SPOILER! Hover your cursor over this sentence if you’re sure you want to read this spoiler.

I hated the fact that Harry suddenly was in love with Susan – I don’t think she deserved him. She was always upset that he was out “saving the world” instead of hanging out with her (unless she could get a story out of it). I felt that if you date a hero, get used to it. You knew who he was before you started dating him.

I’m starting to be annoyed by Harry’s chivalrous issues and at how he’s slowly selling himself – piece by piece – to the highest bad guy bidder to get ways to help other people. If Michael is able to do things without selling his soul, why not Harry? And why isn’t God helping Harry out? Maybe those are things that are addressed in later novels. And why wouldn’t God do something about Harry’s contract with his Godmother??? Everyone says that it was made by trickery. Why no help??

The rating dropped from 4 stars to 3.5 because of the Susan issues – I felt that Butcher was trying to get me to feel badly for Susan at the ending. I just couldn’t.

3.5 Stars!

Leave a Reply

