Divorced, Desperate and Delicious (Divorced #1) by Christie Craig

divorced desperate

Photobucket
Ever since photographer Lacy Maguire caught her ex playing Pin the Secretary to the Elevator Wall, she’s been content with her dog Fabio, her three cats, and a vow of chastity. But all that changes when the reindeer-antlered Fabio drags in a very desperate, on-the-run detective who decides to take refuge in her house–a house filled with twinkling lights and a decorated tree. (Okay, so it’s February. but she has a broken heart to mend, a Christmas-card shoot to do, and a six-times divorced, match-making mother to appease.) For the first time in a looong while, Lacy reconsiders her vow. Because sexy Chase Kelly, wounded soul that he may be, would be an oh-so-delicious way of breaking her fast. Now, if she can just keep them both alive and him out of jail…

I don’t know what to say. I started reading this and I was quickly drawn in. I enjoyed the characters and – while some of the story was a little…over the top – a lot of it was just great.

I probably shouldn’t write a review right now because I’m still feeling a little rage-licous. I freaking hated the ending. The ending turned into one big WTF for me.

I really hate it when non-trained people demand to be taken on a dangerous activity. It screams “stupid” over and over again. I hate it sooo much because it is only a plot mover and it’s beyond obvious. And it makes the person who demands to come along look extra special stupid.

It’s like this: My thing is English and books. Words. My husband’s specialty…numbers. Should I demand to do his job daily because I *think* he could *possibly* get into trouble at work? No. That’s just stupid. His response would be: “Don’t you have some books to read?”

So why do authors think it’s a great idea to send untrained people into situations where they are a hindrance and a burden?? It’s not cute and it’s not funny. It is a “I think I’m going to skim in rage now” moment.

/rant.

Three stars which would have been 4-4 1/2 if not for the incredibly annoying ending.

Leave a Reply

