Law Man (Dream Man #3) by Kristen Ashley

Law Man

Photobucket
Four years ago, Mitch Lawson moved across the breezeway from Mara Hanover and she fell in love with the tall, good-looking police detective who had an uncanny ability to dress well even though he’s single. It was not a stalker kind of love; she knows she has no hope since Mitch is way out of her league. That doesn’t change the fact that he’s her dream man.

Then one day Mara’s faucet won’t turn off and she knows nothing about plumbing. Being a good guy, Mitch offers to help then he invites himself over for pizza. Mara gives it a go but finds herself running away from him (literally) on their first date, standing him up their second and then she runs into him (again literally) on her way to save her ne’er do well, criminal cousin’s kids who’d just run away from their ne’er do well, criminal Dad.

Suddenly, Mara finds she has on her hands the guardianship of two kids and a gorgeous police detective who’s willing to do anything to help out… including giving fabulous foot rubs.

But Mara knows who she is and where she came from and she knows Detective Mitch Lawson is better than her. Hot law man Mitch disagrees and his challenge is to convince Mara to let go of her past and he sets about building a family at the same time he finds he also needs to protect them all against known and unknown adversaries that would tear them apart.

Goodreads prompt: What did you think?

I feel shame.

—–

I really didn’t care for Mara too much. She had major ass confidence issues – too many to count.

Mitch was cool. What killed me (the most) was the plot moppets. God bless! The damn reason that Mitch and Mara slept in the bed together for the first time was due to a plot moppet screaming. The reason that Mitch had a “better” excuse to hang around more was due to a plot moppet. Save me from plot moppets.

The heroine didn’t get kidnapped this time – this time it was the plot moppets. Ha!

But at least this one didn’t have a crazy bitch ex-wife who was married but still making her ex-husband’s life a living hell. (Though I always wonder where KA gets the idea for these spineless ass men the crazy ex-bitches are currently with. It’s unlikely that a man with any self-esteem at all would put up with his woman tracking down some old boyfriend/husband like that. That shit wouldn’t fly.) In this book we have the plot moppets’ grandma and aunt as the crazy bitches. So we still have crazy bitches.

After the plot moppets, Gwen infuriated me the most. I am so happy I DNF’d her book. She’s an annoying bitch in everyone else’s book. Can’t take much more of her. Let me be real real honest. Any bitch that my man is willing to fight another man over is NOT going to be my fucking friend. We are NOT going to be “girls” and hang out. And DT for DAMN THAT if that kind of bitch is going to be “checking to make sure” that my man is with the right kind of woman. Fuck that shit. Gwen would have caught a beat down of epic proportions.

So obviously we can tell that the Dream Man series is not too much more than total wish fulfillment. It’s an entire series of books dedicated to making the bad boy good, making the bad boy into an excellent father and husband; making the women in to mini starlets with hot clothes and a reason to be kidnapped. Dafucq?

Rating Caveat: The rating is based on a how I feel about this book in comparison to all of the other KA books I have read. Also, I have never rated any of the KA books I’ve read on grammar, sentence structure, editing or formatting. I knew what I was getting myself into before I started reading.

3 thoughts on “Law Man (Dream Man #3) by Kristen Ashley

  1. So far this is my favorite of the series. I think Mitch is a milder version of Hank (Rock Chick Redemption). Mara reminds me of Jet but she’s more likeable though I don’t like her crazy classification system. I haven’t read Motorcycle Man yet but I’ve heard good things about that book.

    I skimmed Mystery Man and Wild Man. I didn’t like Gwen’s unhealthy relationship with Hawk.

Leave a Reply

