Jam Jar Wine- April 20, 2013

I realized this weekend that I’ve been remiss on the wine posts, lol. 😀 And I think that is because usually I’ll snap a pic and then bask in the nectar that is wine.

I’m going to do a few quick update posts – hopefully before the next bottle gets consumed.

I’m exploring wines right now. In discussing this educational process with my regular wine seller, he told me that the 1st thing I should do is what I am supposed to be doing right now: keep a wine diary of what I liked and what I didn’t like.

He also told me that I should be careful in purchasing expensive wines. He told me that it takes time to develop a good palate so I may not be able to truly appreciate the delicate flavors of a more expensive wine. So, with those things in mind…here we go.

April 20th – Jam Jar

jam jar 2

I decided to do sweet reds on this particular weekend. I really don’t have a reason why I wanted to do sweet reds. It was more like a random thought pattern. I don’t care for dry wines especially. I really don’t care for dry white wines – when I do drink whites, I like a nice fruity or somewhat sweet white. So I guessed that I might like sweet reds, too. It’s not like I’ve never had a sweet red wine before, I’ve had plenty of sweet red wine. But it’s mostly been in larger groups with lots of conversation and tons of snacks. I’ve never tried sweet reds with the intention of appreciating the taste.

At the wine store I requested sweet reds and I was shown two different brands that I purchased. Sadly, I forgot to snap a picture of the 2nd bottle so I won’t discuss that one at all.

Back to the Jam Jar. Please remember this is based on several weeks old memory.

I liked it, it was nice. I can’t say it was my favorite. It was…much too sweet for my personal tastes. I would personally classify this as a dessert wine of some sort. Something that I would drink after a meal or as a dessert by itself. I liked the sweetness of it (I have a serious sweet tooth) but I would say that I’d want to turn the sweetness down a few notches.

Tomorrow (hopefully): What happens when wine and canning are combined!

Leave a Reply

