Life: Cardio Day (ugggh)

I think I hate cardio.

That’s a horrible thing to say! And it’s not 100% true. I’m a former dancer and (while my technique is non-existent) I still love to dance.

I also run. I enjoy that 1/4 of the time, lol. The other 3/4 of the time I just tell myself I’m enjoying it.

I love swimming and things like that. I’ve done some pretty hard core aerobic-based DVD workouts. I’ve done (a lot! of) Jillian Micheal’s HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training) programs. I even like yoga.

But something about being forced into cardio activities makes me very….bullishly stubborn and irritated.

But I need to do cardio. Cardio is one of the only effective ways to lose weight (vs gaining muscle or getting in shape) and I want to lose some weight!

Yes. I can (and do) lift heavy weights. Currently my squat is stalled at 135 but I expect to hit some other PRs (personal records) in the coming weeks.

But. Cardio.

The program I’m currently doing suggests the following weekly plan:

Monday: Workout A [Strength]
Tuesday: Workout B [Strength]
Wednesday: Cardio or HIIT session A
Thursday: Workout C [Strength]
Friday: Workout A [Strength]
Saturday: Cardio or HIIT session B
Sunday: Off

That’s six (!) days a week (with two of those days being cardio).

I have not followed this plan. I’ve done the strength workouts but not the cardio/HIIT.

There are still 2 1/2 weeks left in my current program so I decided to try to beast mode it out and hit all six days. My goals for this week includes running on one cardio day (done!) and doing one session of HIIT later in the week (I’m aiming for Saturday). Sunday I’ll rest.

So. Cardio Day. Uggggh!

I started with a complicated but brisk .70 mile warm up walk (also called walking the dog, lol). After that I ran 1.91 miles at 12:59 mins/mile. I did some stretching, some bridging exercises and some foam rolling.

Cardio Day. Over.

Then I drove to work with an ice pack on my hammies. *shakes fist at sky* Damn you, DOMS!! Daammmmmn Yoooooou!

Leave a Reply

