DNF Review: I Didn’t Ask to Be Born: (But I’m Glad I Was) by Bill Cosby

I Didn't Ask to Be Born

In this hilarious collection of observations, Cosby brings us more of his wonderful and wacky insights into the human condition that are sure to become classics. In the tradition of Fat Albert, I DIDN’T ASK TO BE BORN offers a host of new characters, including Peanut Armhouse and Old Mother Harold. Not since Mushmouth, Dumb Donald, Bucky and the Cosby Kids has there been such a memorable cast.

Over the past century few entertainers have achieved the legendary status of William H. Cosby Jr. His success spans five decades and virtually all media-remarkable accomplishments for a kid who emerged from humble beginnings in a Philly housing project.

In the tradition of his bestselling books, Fatherhood and Cosbyology, the doctor of comedy holds forth on everything from first love to the Bible. Bill Cosby may not have asked to be born, but we’re sure glad he was.

 

 

I grew up with Bill Cosby. From Fat Albert and the Cosby Kids to Picture Pages to The Cosby Show (and it’s spin-offs and revamps) are all a part of my life’s experience. I listened to his songs, I watched his stand up…I am partially a product of Bill Cosby’s influence.

So when I saw this book at the library… YONK! I grabbed.

I’ve never read a Cosby book before but…his style of comedy just did not translate well into the written word for me. While the rambling style of storytelling is…pretty much what I remember from other Cosby works (outside of his scripted shows) the way it reads isn’t to my liking.

The spark…that humor in his eyes and the silly little smirk he makes that is both naughty and innocent…just did not flow through the page. There is a lack of flow and continuity that makes this rambling yarn hard to follow as well as extremely boring. I was decidedly disappointed and I could not finish the book.

But this book did make me yearn for some good old Cosby stand-up…

Leave a Reply

