B&M Bookstores: The Annapolis Bookstore, Annapolis, MD

The Annapolis Bookstore
35 Maryland Ave
Annapolis, MD 214001
(410) 280-2339

My Impressions: This place is great! They sale used and rare books – a few new books but not really.

I loved the atmosphere. There’s a cafe right inside but unlike Hard Bean (I visited both on the same day) The Annapolis Bookstore is clearly primarily a bookstore. A wild and crazy bookstore that is the equivalent of having a book crazy old family member who stuffed their entire house to the gills with books. And then let you free to roam with the ability to take home any book you like.

It’s like WOW! My goodness. I need a couple of hours here!

I also located a used copy of Magic’s Pawn by Mercedes Lackey. Magic’s Pawn was the very first brand new book I purchased with my own money from my first real job. I’d read the entire Valdemar series published multiple times from the library…but this was the first time I could afford to buy my own.

My New(sed) copy of Magic's Pawn beside my trashed copy.

My New(sed) copy of Magic’s Pawn beside my trashed copy.

My uncle (father’s brother) had come to live with us – he was very young and full of himself. Well, we got into an argument before I had to leave for school one day. In retaliation for the argument he decided to take my book, place it in the bathroom sink and turn the water on…just a drip. O_O By the time I got home Magic’s Pawn was totally saturated and I was devastated. Being broke, I carefully dried out Magic’s Pawn page by page. When I was done the book was readable but it was still trashed.

Years have passed (more than 10) but I kept my trashed copy of Magic’s Pawn as a reminder of my uncle. When I saw the used copy at The Annapolis Bookstore I decided that now was the perfect time to replace my original copy of Magic’s Pawn.

2 thoughts on “B&M Bookstores: The Annapolis Bookstore, Annapolis, MD

  1. This is a good story, and your uncle was such a boor. To do such a thing out of spite! I hope he got what was coming to him.
    Interestingly, Magic Pawn was my first fantasy novel; it introduced me to the genre, made me fall in love with it. I was a Lackey’s fan for a time afterwards, and although I’m not anymore, I still have a soft spot for her older Valdemar novels.

    • Thanks! Yeah, he is a boor. And he hasn’t grown out of it. My father let him move in (again) and his behavior was so out of control he had to have the police come and remove him. Sad. 😦

      I know what you mean about Lackey. I still have a huge soft spot for all things Valdemar but…something has changed. Not sure if it is her writing or me but I can’t get into the newer stuff like I used to with her older works.

Leave a Reply

