Reveiw: Something About You (FBI/US Attorney #1) by Julie James

Something About You

Photobucket
Fate has thrown two sworn enemies…

Of all the hotel rooms rented by all the adulterous politicians in Chicago, female Assistant U.S. Attorney Cameron Lynde had to choose the one next to 1308, where some hot-and-heavy lovemaking ends with a death. And of all the FBI agents in Illinois, it had to be Special Agent Jack Pallas who gets assigned to this high-profile homicide. The same Jack Pallas who still blames Cameron for a botched crackdown three years ago—and for nearly ruining his career.

Into each other’s arms…

Work with Cameron Lynde? Are they kidding? Maybe, Jack thinks, this is some kind of welcome-back prank after his stint away from Chicago. But it’s no joke; the pair is going to have to put their rocky past behind them and focus on the case at hand. That is, if they can cut back on the razor-sharp jibes—and smother the flame of their sizzling-hot sexual tension.

Another winner!

I decided to read Something About You after completing the fifth book in the FBI/US Attorney series, It Happened One Wedding. It Happened One Wedding just charmed me to pieces so I bought the remaining four books in the series ASAP. It was a great decision so far! I really enjoyed Something About You as well.

Something About You is much more of a mystery/thriller/procedural than the first book I read – I’ve already started on the second book in this series and it’s coming across as the same. I think that this series normally has a bit more procedural work than It Happened One Wedding.

Cameron and Jack initially liked each other – they worked well together and were attracted to each other. Then a major case that Jack had been working on for over two years was benched. Jack was so incensed that he lost it on national TV, insulting Cameron and the US Attorney’s office. These two events (the case benching and the public insult) caused Jack major career issues that he blamed Cameron for – and Cameron wasn’t to pleased by Jack insulting her.

Fast forward three years and Cameron is the sole witness to a very high profile murder. Just as luck would have it, Jack is the lead agent for the case. Forced to work together again, Jack and Cameron eventually smooth out their issues – making it impossible for them to deny the attraction they still feel for each other.

I really enjoyed Something About You! James really shows the reader the ins and outs of Cameron and Jack falling in love. I *love* that kind of push/pull, give/take interaction in my romance books. I love that – again – James has crafted a strong and intelligent heroine. Cameron has agency, she is confident in herself and her sexuality, she has good friends and a great career which she loves. Gosh! I am loving James’ heroines!

I’m sad to say that James’ heroes have been a little…interchangeable to me (not cardboard cut-outs but not distinct). I can barely remember one guy’s name from the next. What I CAN say is that all of the heroes – while similar – are all great! They are also intelligent and involved in careers that are important to them. The best part to me? None of them are Alpholes! They realize when they mess up and then they fess up to said mistake.

All in all, I have to say that I really enjoyed this book and I most certainly recommend it for Contemporary Romance Readers!

Leave a Reply

