Movie Review: Edge of Tommorrow

Edge of Tomorrow

Photobucket
Oscar® nominee Tom Cruise (the “Mission: Impossible” films, “Collateral,” “Jerry Maguire”) and Emily Blunt (“The Devil Wears Prada,” “The Adjustment Bureau”) star in Warner Bros. Pictures’ and Village Roadshow Pictures’ sci-fi thriller “Edge of Tomorrow,” under the direction of Doug Liman (“The Bourne Identity,” “Mr. & Mrs. Smith”).

The epic action of “Edge of Tomorrow” unfolds in a near future in which an alien race has hit the Earth in an unrelenting assault, unbeatable by any military unit in the world.

Major William Cage (Cruise) is an officer who has never seen a day of combat when he is unceremoniously dropped into what amounts to a suicide mission. Killed within minutes, Cage now finds himself inexplicably thrown into a time loop—forcing him to live out the same brutal combat over and over, fighting and dying again…and again.

But with each battle, Cage becomes able to engage the adversaries with increasing skill, alongside Special Forces warrior Rita Vrataski (Blunt). And, as Cage and Rita take the fight to the aliens, each repeated encounter gets them one step closer to defeating the enemy.

Liman is directing “Edge of Tomorrow” from a screenplay by Christopher McQuarrie and Jez Butterworth & John-Henry Butterworth, based on the novel entitled All You Need is Kill by Hiroshi Sakurazaka. Erwin Stoff produces, along with Tom Lassally, Jeffrey Silver, Gregory Jacobs and Jason Hoffs. The executive producers are Doug Liman, David Bartis, Joby Harold, Hidemi Fukuhara and Bruce Berman, with Tim Lewis and Kim Winther serving as co-producers.

The behind-the-scenes team includes Academy Award®-winning director of photography Dion Beebe (“Memoirs of a Geisha”), production designer Oliver Scholl (“Jumper,” “Independence Day”), editor James Herbert (“Sherlock Holmes,” “Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows”), costume designer Kate Hawley (“Pacific Rim”), and Oscar®-nominated visual effects supervisor Nick Davis (“The Dark Knight”). The music is by Christophe Beck (“Frozen”).

3.5 stars – Entertaining

I’m not a big movie person, I like to read. My husband loves TV and movies but I avoid them as much as possible. So I find it a bit ironic that I ended up watching two movies in the last few weeks.

It’s really hard for me to review/rate movies as there are so few that really catch my fancy. This movie was one of the very few that I actually wanted to go see – and hubby was happy to oblige.

Edge of Tomorrow was [very] adapted from a Japanese military sci-fi novel by Hiroshi Sakurazaka, named All You Need is Kill. Of course, as soon as I learned it was a book adaptation, I ran out and bought the book (two copies: DTB for me and audio for hubby).

Edge of Tomorrowwas good. It was entertaining. I felt that the beginning was a little…strained but I enjoyed the rest of the movie once Cage (Cruise) began re-starting the game.

One of the reasons I wanted to see Edge of Tomorrow is that it reminded me of playing video games – especially the older games that don’t respawn monsters/enemies in random spots. I’m was thinking the old school Super Mario Bros. or something like that. You know the deal, you get to a bad spot and you hit the reset button. And everyone knew the beginning was mushroom, mushroom, turtle, jump…

Edge of Tomorrow reminded me a bit of Groundhog’s Day and a bit of Independence Day all wrapped up in Starship Troopers…plus video games. It really caught my gamer-girl/book-nerd fancy. Surprisingly, I really enjoyed Edge of Tomorrow! Tom Cruise was giving us the Full Tom Cruise: I had Tom Cruise running, Tom Cruise smiling, Tom Cruise doing his own stunts, Tom Cruise romancing… It was the full Tom Cruise and he was entertaining my ass, lol.

Please, I cannot forget the badass that is Emily Blunt. Damn. Rita (Blunt) came across as 100% badass solider. I love the fact that the directors allowed Blunt to be the badass that she was instead of dumbing down the female warrior role (the way they did in Pacific Rim). And did you see her physique?!?! My God, that woman hit the gym and I love it! Her shoulders looked amazing.

The only real problem I had with the movie was the use of the word “bitch.” For some strange reason Emily Blunt’s character is given the nickname “Full Metal Bitch.” I can’t quite understand why. I discussed it with my husband and he eventually came up with, “It’s their way of saying that she’s a total badass.” WTF? Really? When did Bitch = Badass? I think he’s right and I have to say that it was extremely unnecessary – she’s a badass and she’s a solider but I didn’t see a bit of bitch in her. IDK why they just couldn’t have called her a badass and left it alone. I do wonder if that is in the book or if it was something thrown into the movie.

Books, Life & Wine Movie Reviews: Movie Reviews for People Who’d Rather Read

Leave a Reply

