Review: Love Irresistibly (FBI/US Attorney #4) by Julie James

Love Irresistibly

Photobucket
HE’S USED TO GETTING WHAT HE WANTS…

A former football star and one of Chicago’s top prosecutors, Assistant U.S. Attorney Cade Morgan will do anything to nail a corrupt state senator, which means he needs Brooke Parker’s help. As general counsel for a restaurant company, she can get a bug to the senator’s table at one of her five-star restaurants so the FBI can eavesdrop on him. All Cade has to do is convince Brooke to cooperate—and he’s not afraid to use a little charm, or the power of his office, to do just that.

AND WHAT HE WANTS IS HER.

A savvy businesswoman, Brooke knows she needs to play ball with the U.S. Attorney’s office—even if it means working with Cade. No doubt there’s a sizzling attraction beneath all their sarcastic quips, but Brooke is determined to keep things casual. Cade agrees—until a surprising turn of events throws his life into turmoil, and he realizes that he wants more than just a good time from the one woman with whom he could fall terrifyingly, irresistibly in love . . .

The final read in my Julie James glomming.

So. Now that I have read all the books in the FBI/US Attorney series, I can say that I found this book to be…one of the more boring of the group. It’s not really memorable so I had to go read the blurb to remind myself of who, what, when, where and how. O_o

And the biggest transgression? Plot Moppet! Accck! James gave me a plot moppet in the middle of a contemporary romance series that stars career singles with no children. Along with a “forgive family anything” ending. I almost threw up in my mouth. O_O

I read Love Irresistibly at a pretty fast clip – I want to say that I read the entire book within 12 hours. I have to admit that the pace would have been quite a bit faster – 6 hours or less – if the plot moppet had not reared its ugly head.

The majority of the book focuses on the heroine, Brooke Parker and the hero, Cade Morgan’s slowly developing relationship. I felt that this part of the book was pretty great. Both characters were great to read about and I really enjoyed their interactions. As will all of the Julie James books I have read, I really got a kick out of the sassy language and spirited dialogue.

When Brooke and Cade meet, sparks fly immediately. I loved the fact that the two didn’t start as friends – it took time for them to get past their initial animosity. I really enjoy romances that allow the couple to slowly get to know each other. Brooke and Cade started by being antagonistic towards each other as they slowly became friends (then lovers). They seemed to understand each other very well (as they are both attorneys) and I enjoyed watching them juggle a burgeoning relationship with high-powered careers.

Sadly, near the end the author decided that she would repair a broken relationship in Cade’s past. This required the use of the plot moppet and it killed the ending for me. I could see the plot moppet inspired solution a mile away and I wasn’t mistaken. If not for the BS ending I would have finished the book much earlier. I don’t know what it is with [some] authors and dealing with family. It just feels that whenever an author (especially a romance author) deals with family-related hardship – it always goes in one of two ways: a fairytale ending where all (no matter how bad) is forgiven and explained or said family (and family members) are made into caricatures of evil-incarnate. Both of these images are sooooo far from the truth. In reality, family is beautiful, wonderful, comforting and bursting with unconditional love and memories. And in reality family is dark and dirty, full of anger, resentment, abuse and the worse that humanity can offer. In other words – family is messy and complicated. Convoluted, if you will. And I get sick of the simplistic versions that we often get in [romance] books – they make me want to gag.

So. 2.5 stars rounded up to 3 stars (simply because I like Julie James). I do recommend this book – especially if you don’t have a problem with plot moppets.

2 thoughts on “Review: Love Irresistibly (FBI/US Attorney #4) by Julie James

  1. This is sad. You hooked me on this series. After your first review, I read book #1, loved it, and ordered #2. I guess I won’t order more. Judging by your reviews, book #3 is not as good and #4 is even worse. Pity. I looked forward to a new romance writer I could love. Did you read anything else by this author?

    • Ooh. I’m sorry!

      No, I haven’t read anything else by this author. But it was a good ride (all things considered). Books 3 & 4 aren’t my favorite but I loved #1 & #5 and liked #2. Her heroines are to die for, though.

      I’m looking for new authors, too. I read a couple of books by a NTM author after this but they didn’t work so well for me after the intelligent Julie James heroines.

Leave a Reply

