Review: Bone Rider by J. Fally *light spoilers*

Bone Rider

Photobucket
Riley Cooper is on the run. Misha Tokarev, the love of his life, turned out to be an assassin for the Russian mob, and when it comes to character flaws, Riley draws the line at premeditated murder. Alien armor system McClane is also on the run, for reasons that include accidentally crashing a space ship into Earth and evading U.S. military custody. A failed prototype, McClane was scheduled for destruction. Sabotaging the ship put an end to that, but McClane is dubbed a bone rider for good reason—he can’t live without a host body. That’s why he first stows away in Riley’s truck and then in Riley himself. Their reluctant partnership soon evolves into something much more powerful—and personal—than either of them could have imagined.

Together, they embark on a road trip from hell, made all the more exciting by the government troops and mob enforcers hot on their trail. Misha is determined to win Riley back and willing to do whatever it takes to keep him safe. When hitman and alien join forces, they discover their impressive combined potential for death and destruction. It will take everything Riley has to steer them through the mess they create.

“A cowboy, an alien, and three hit men walk into a bar…”

O.M.G!

This was one wild ride and I love every single second of it!

This review is almost impossible to write, I just enjoyed it so much that my thoughts are just a jumble of squees, lol.

WOW. This book is crazy. It’s amazing. It’s got so much action and explosions in it that I could see it as a movie. It’s an m/m romance sci-fi action shoot-em-up mobster military flick…book. O_O And one of the most gripping books I’ve read all year – I spent most of the read on the edge of my seat…

From the very first chapter I could barely put Bone Rider down. I was instantly hooked as I met System Six – a prototype symbiotic intelligent armor and weapons system – while he discovered that he was considered a failure and possibly scheduled for dismantling. System Six was panicked – he hated his disgusting host with a passion and he didn’t want to die – he had no clue how the other prototypes felt or if they were even sentient at all. Desperate, System Six looked for a way to buy himself time so that he could locate a new host. Sadly, he accidentally crashed the space ship into Earth. This accident kills almost everyone aboard the ship. The following accident – causing the death of the remaining ship members – is caused when the US Army stumbles upon the wreckage and (in fear of aliens) shoots [first] at the survivors. All of the aliens are killed with the exception of System Six who manages to get away. Just our friendly little way of making First Contact. ^.^

Unaware that the military was hot on it’s tail, System Six manages to locate a new host: Riley Cooper. Riley is on the run from his mobster hitman boyfriend, Misha. Riley had no clue Misha was a hitman but once he found out he hit the road with just a bug-out bag. Once Riley and System Six merge, System Six begins to take on even more life and personality: “System Six” becomes “McClane.” This is where the book really starts to take off.

Each character felt fleshed out and they all quickly began to mean something to me: I loved Riley and hated that he was so alone and heartbroken; it was as if McClane had climbed into my skin; I wanted Misha to win back Riley; Misha’s right (and left) hand men Andrej and Kolya had me rolling. There’s this scene where Misha believes that Riley had been killed and in his insane grief he wanted to claim Riley’s body – but Riley’s body was surrounded by soldiers. Misha hatches this insane plan…Andrej is desperately trying to keep Misha from suiciding by soldier but Kolya wraps his face in a t-shirt and laconically asks, “Do you want your face all over TV?” Kolya won my heart right there. What then follows is an action scene of epic proportions. I’m talking Chronicles of Riddick bringing a knife to a gunfight and leaving with a gun (or 3!) kind of action here. And I was cheering. And at the same time I was all WOWOHWOWOHWOW!

Then I had to go to bed for work the next day. Being at work was killing me. I had NO CLUE how they are going to get out of the mess they were in. The military was closing in fast; Riley & McClane were unconscious; Riley & McClane, Misha, Andrej and Kolya were on the run and Misha’s mobster-Don father was searching for him with a seriously bad attitude. My entire workday was spent on pins and needles, lol.

Soon as I got home I tore into the rest of Bone Rider! So good!

The ending was crazy. CRAZY! But I loved it! There was a huge fight scene that included Misha’s mafia princess sister driving a limo like a bat out of hell with her father popping up out of the roof with an AK-47. WOW! I LOVED the fact that – while Misha’s father was pissed beyond belief with him – when push came to shove…Misha’s family wasn’t letting him go down without a fight.

And the love between Misha, Riley and McClane was just so heartwarming. And the way Andrej and Kolya had Misha and Riley’s backs to the very end. It was just perfect.

One of the things I really appreciated about Bone Rider was the lack of judgement: there is no judgement as to who is right or wrong when discussing the military’s chase after Riley and McClane. We (as readers) don’t have to “take sides” so I chose both sides: on one hand I wanted Riley, McClane, Misha, Andrej and Kolya to make it and [insert rainbows and butterflies feelings here]… And on the other hand…if there was some unknown and highly advanced alien just running around our planet…I’d totally want the military to be after that ass. I also like the fact that every single character that had more than a handful of lines was human and normal – meaning they were complicated and multifaceted.

Gah! There’s no way I’m doing this book justice. It just had so much going on and so many things I loved! There were a few spots in the book that I had some concerns about…but at the end of the day I just enjoyed the pure high of a great book and left the concerns by the wayside. By the end I did.not.care about my concerns…I just wanted to have as many of my friends read this as possible (and I’m totally buying the hardcopy).

As if it wasn’t clear: RECOMMENDED!

4 thoughts on “Review: Bone Rider by J. Fally *light spoilers*

Leave a Reply

