Mastered Anthology Review: The Scientific Method (Vampire Queen #9.5) by Joey W. Hill

Mastered: 10 Tales of Sensual Surrender

Photobucket
Mastering her body was easy. Mastering her heart and soul will be an erotic science…
In the vampire-servant relationship, the vampire holds all the power. Being Lord Brian’s research assistant as well as his servant, Debra accepts that, but she craves her Master’s heart. When Brian notices his servant’s unhappiness, he uses methods they both understand to prove just what belonging to him fully means.

 
 
I’ve read two books by Joey W. Hill in the past. Those two books were so well written and so full of emotion that I was a sobbing, snotty, red-faced mess by the time I reached the end. I’m talking the ugly cry. So it made me a little gun shy and I’ve avoided more of her books. When I saw the Mastered anthology I bought it on the strength of Joey W. Hill’s name alone. It’s just a vampire story I told myself. It’s inside an anthology so it has to be short, I thought. I’ll be fine.

Ugly. Cry. UGLY.

OMG. I should have known that there is no such thing as “just a story” when it comes to Joey W. Hill. My cousin called me when I was smack in the middle of The Scientific Method. She thought I was sick or sleep cause my voice was hoarse and I was congested from all the tears. O_O She says to me, “Are you going to finish that book??” YES. Yes, I will. I will sit here and cry till its over!

What did I look like at the end of this book? A sobbing, snotty, red-faced mess. But damn it was a good read! The characters that Hill creates are…full of life. She makes you care about her characters because they become real.

The Scientific Method is the story of Debra and Brian. Debra is Brian’s “third marked servant” which means that she is bound to him totally – he can even read her mind if he chooses. She provides Brian’s sex, blood and anything else he might need or desire. Debra literally gave up her entire life for Brian – forsaking her friends, family and career. Brian…gave up nothing and takes Debra for granted as well.

While The Scientific Method is a vampire novel (with the associated paranormal aspects) this book is really about repairing a seriously broken relationship that felt more like a broken marriage. When The Scientific Method starts, Debra has become a ghost of her former self. Completely in love with and dedicated to her vampire, Debra has started to break in the face of the knowledge that Brian only thinks of her as a servant – a convenience – and nothing more. The way Brian treated her – or neglected her – honestly made me wish she wanted someone else. The Brian at the beginning of this book did NOT deserve Debra in the least. Brian was cruel to her deliberately and cruel to her unintentionally – and he never noticed how his actions affected Debra in the least. He could not see how starved she was for affection, how exhausted she was from pushing herself for him and how lonely she was.

Sometime shortly before the start of The Scientific Method Brian realized that it was possible to lose Debra. As that thought sank into his subconscience, Brian started to pay more attention to her…finally realizing the prize he had and the complete and utter mess he created by his actions (or lack of action). As Brian slowly realized how brittle Debra had become – and that he depended on Debra for more than his comfort – Brian starts to pay more attention to her. By the time Brian starts to pay more attention to Debra…he finally knows how close he came to losing her: Debra had contemplated suicide due to her deep depression and hopelessness.

Brian slowly grows over the course of the novel – turning his hollow relationship with Debra into a real partnership. Debra slowly learns to trust Brian with her heart again. OMG. This was SO GOOD but so angsty. Man! Joey W. Hill wrote the perfect story for an anthology: a story that almost forces you to go out and by more books by the author. I’m a total wussy and I hate crying but I am giving some serious consideration into reading the rest of the books in the Vampire Queen series.

If you love a good, emotional read…I suggest you read Joey W. Hill. Fantastic! and Angsty.

Leave a Reply

