Mastered Anthology Review: Juicy (Twilight Teahouse #1) by T.J. Michaels

Mastered: 10 Tales of Sensual Surrender

Photobucket
Twilight Teahouse ~ Choose something decadent from our menu…

Solie Shaw is a brilliant self-made woman. After managing a corporation by day, at night, all she wants is to not be in charge. The last man she’d gifted her heart to had smashed it to smithereens and then did the mambo on top of the pieces. Now, along comes the chance to get exactly what she needs. All Solie has to do…is choose.

 
 
This was a really cute story that I sorta enjoyed. I say “sorta” because too much of the story was taken up by the mental angst of the heroine, Solie, and her issues with her horrible ex. Time and time again – no matter what was happening – the ex-bf would pop up in Solie’s head and she’d do the “woe is me” dance of angst. It got old pretty fast – even though I realize that she only broke up with the ex-bf six weeks ago.juicy

I LOVED a lot of the ideas I found within this novella…I just wished the author focused more on the new relationship Solie was building with Burton instead of spending so much time dwelling on the past relationship.

One of my favorite things in the series was the whole idea of the Twilight Teahouse. OMG, can we say HOT?! I liked the Twilight Teahouse much, much better than…any of the other BDSM clubs I’ve read before. From what I understand, the Twilight Teahouse is a restaurant/private BDSM Club/Spa. What, what?! I love that! Can you imagine? The descriptions all made me what to go visit. While I wasn’t that in love with Juicy…the Twilight Teahouse alone makes me want to finish the series.

I also liked the idea of having a “protector” in BDSM but the idea did not feel fully developed enough to give me a complete idea of all that it encompasses.

Juicy had another problem that often plagues short stories that are parts of a series: the inability to truly stand alone. Juicy is the first book in the Twilight Teahouse series…but right now it reads like it takes place in the middle of the series instead. There are none of the introductions that you typically get in a brand new series…which makes me think that while this is the first released story – it could have been written after others that are not released.

I wasn’t a huge fan of the ending, either. It felt off…like it was tacked on to give closure to the whole ex-bf thing. I wish I had gotten more impact play with Solie and Burton instead.

So. 2.75 stars rounded up to 3 stars. I will keep my eye out for the release of the second book in the Twilight Teahouse series.

Leave a Reply

