Review: Everything Forbidden (Albright Sisters #1) by Jess Michaels

Everything Forbidden

Photobucket
YOUR DAYS AND NIGHTS WILL BELONG TO ME

For summers Miranda Albright has watched—aghast, yet shamefully titillated—as her wicked neighbor Ethan Hamon, the notorious Earl of Rothschild, “entertained” a succession of lovers on the grounds of his estate. Now that her father has passed on, leaving behind a mountain of debt, Miranda must do the unthinkable. For Ethan has promised to sponsor her younger sisters, financially and socially, at a scandalously dear price: Miranda must offer herself to him completely for three full months, with no remorse and no restraints.

Ninety days and nights of unbridled sensuality await her in the arms of a rogue who views her submission as no more than a grand erotic game. But neither Miranda nor Ethan realize that fire blazes behind her innocent blush. And once her passion is unleashed by his lips and his touch, it is the student who will school the teacher in the ways of forbidden pleasure … and love.

 

Everything Forbidden is the second book I read using my Scribd trial, introducing me to Jess Michaels. As of today this book is on sale at Kobo for $9.99. I have to admit that I would have never read this book without the Scribd membership – the price is waaay to high for my blood – especially for a NTM author.

I’m not really sure what to say about it – the blurb covers it all pretty well, lol. I did like this one – I liked it quite a bit. My enjoyment was less about the plot and more about the execution, however – which was close to flawless.

The sex was steamy, the heroine was likeable and the hero wasn’t an alphole. What more can a girl ask for in an historical erotic romance? As a character, Miranda was quite interesting and rather brave – but she didn’t have any stand out characteristics that made her particularly memorable past the reading of the text. Ethan was the same – great for the read but not a “dreamy” hero that I pondered about or squeed over. Marianda’s sisters, Penelope and Beatrice, and her mother left a more lasting impression to me – but only because the impression was decidedly negative.

There’s no tension in the book – no push and pull between the H/h and very little (read: none) sexual tension. Even the final Big Mis was resolved very quickly and with no on page tension. I like a little tension in my romances…

I enjoyed the final ending – no epilogue – when the “I love yous” were said. I thought it was tooth-achingly sweet but it worked for the couple.

 

 

90 Day Scribd Trial
Total Books Read: 2
Current Price of Book: $9.99
Total Cost of Books read: $11.98
Total Amount Saved: -$14.99 (price of all books read minus price of service ($26.97))

Leave a Reply

