Review: What a Goddess Wants (Forgotten Goddesses #1) by Stephanie Julian

What a Goddess Wants

Photobucket
Tessa, Etruscan Goddess of the Dawn, is desperately fighting off a malicious god, but her powers are weakening. She needs a hero and fast, because only sexual energy can give her strength. So she seeks out Caligo, whose sexual prowess is legendary.

Caligo is a fabled Cimmerian warrior determined to stay away from spoiled goddesses who trample hearts after they’ve had their fun. But there’s something irresistibly hot and inviting about Tessa, and he knows he’s her only chance to escape the encroaching darkness.

 

 
What a Goddess Wants is the sixth book I’ve read using the Scribd service and the first book in the Forgotten Goddesses series. This book is currently on sale at Kobo for $10.09. Stephanie Julian is a new to me (NTM) author that I discovered using the Scribd recommendation engine.

I’m not sure what made me decide to read What a Goddess Wants – it surely wasn’t on my radar. Once I cracked open the book I was a little hooked! There are a lot of things to enjoy about the Forgotten Goddesses series and I have a special soft spot for mythological people/creatures pulled into the modern era.

What a Goddess Wants starts with Caligo catching a beat-down of epic proportions. We learn that Caligo is one of the famed Cimmerian warriors (i.e. Robert E. Howard’s Conan) and he is experiencing the rewards of those who deal with the Roman gods: betrayal. The experience hardens Caligo toward gods and goddesses so he was decidedly upset to arrive home one day to find a sleeping goddess – Tessa – on his couch.

While the reader can certainly understand Caligo’s dismay, his next decision brought about a very problematic meet-cute. Tessa, who is exhausted due to her struggles with a murderous god, wakes up to find herself buck naked and tied spread-eagle to Caligo’s bed. Yeah. I was a bit surprised. And dismayed that Caligo managed to get a nipple in his mouth and do some serious sucking before he ever said a single word to her. I appreciated the fact that Tessa’s goddess status makes her less concerned about sex and propriety but I think that was a bit much. At least she enjoyed it!

Caligo agrees to help Tessa because she’s not duplicitous like other goddesses he’s met in the past and because he’s extremely attracted to her. One reason that Caligo is so attracted to Tessa is that he can feel her warmth. Cimmerians in Julian’s world cannot feel pain, heat or cold – this is the “secret” of their fierce warrior status but their inability to feel sensation also removes their humanity after time. Caligo should not be able to feel Tessa’s body heat but he does and he can’t get enough of it (and her).

The remainder of the book is dedicated to Caligo and Tessa trying to discover a way to keep her safe (and alive). During this portion Tessa and Caligo visit Cimmeria so that Caligo can get advice from his father. I loved the fact that – even though Caligo was almost 100 years old AND had a major falling out with his father – Caligo went straight to his parents for help and advice. I felt it really showed a true strained family relationship: I may be mad at you but I love you. Caligo’s dad had my favorite line in the entire book:

Cal stared at his father…and realized he was waiting for Diritas to come up with something Cal hadn’t thought of. He realized he was counting on it. Counting on his dad to come through for him.

“Hell, don’t look at me like that.” Diritas rolled his eyes and scrubbed a hand through his hair, looking nervous for the first time ever. “Like I kicked your damn puppy. Damn it. We’ll figure something out, kid. Just…give me a few minutes, will you? I can’t be brilliant on demand. I gotta work at these things.”

The ending did not quite go the way I expected, which was nice. And the parts between Tessa and Caligo was just too cute. 🙂 I really enjoyed this read and my time spent in Stephanie Julian’s world. I’m glad that Scribd help me discover this author and I plan to finish up the rest of the series.

 

 

90 Day Scribd Trial

Total Books Read: 6
Current Price of Book: $10.09
Total Cost of Books read: $44.55
Total Amount Saved: $17.58 (price of all books minus price of service ($26.97))

Leave a Reply

