Wine: Chateau Ste Michelle – 05/08/13

My husband and I had a wonderful salmon dinner last night. We had Crispy Bourbon Salmon, Basmati Rice with Sweet Onions and Summer Herbs and sauteed spinach with garlic. I decided to pair this with a Riesling because – thus far – that’s my favorite white. I knew I wanted something that wasn’t too sweet and while I really enjoy Relax, I had a feeling it would be too sweet for this meal.

When I decided to make salmon for dinner I already had this bourbon recipe in mind. I made sure to get all the ingredients I needed on my regular grocery shopping expedition. Except…I forgot one thing: I don’t really drink dark liquors so I had no clue what my husband had in the liquor cabinet. I already had the rice going when I turned to start the sauce for the salmon. That’s when I find out: there’s no bourbon. O_O So I look up bourbon and find out it’s a type of whiskey. I go back to the liquor cabinet and…there’s no whiskey. 😦 But there is rum! So I spend like 10 mins googling to see if I could substitute rum for bourbon. About to give up in frustration, I got the bright idea to check the site I got the damn recipe from. Right there in the comments: yes, it’s cool. >.>

So…I made Crispy Rum Salmon with Basmati Rice with Sweet Onions and Summer Herbs and sauteed spinach for dinner, paired with a nice riesling. 🙂

The Wine: Chateau Ste Michelle
Chateau Ste Michelle
The wine is a beautiful pale yellow color – sorta like wheat while still on the stalk in a sunny field…but of a more pale hue.

The wine smells peachy, or like a white grape or some other very light smelling fruit. I feel like I can smell it but its still faint in its own way. I reminds me of trying to smell a peach – that you almost have to stick your nose on it in order to really smell it.

The Chateau Ste Michelle tastes…sharp but still sweet. When the wine hits my tongue, the first thing I taste is the sweetness. Shortly after the sweetness is swallowed by a tart shot of peach. Sorta like biting into an almost ripe peach. When it gets to the back of my tongue it feels almost…fizzy, like champagne. I definitely taste peach. There’s some other flavors there that I can’t figure out.*

This is one of my favorites so far, I think. It did go well with the salmon (and I think the fact that it isn’t as sweet helped quite a bit) and both hubby and I enjoyed it.

 

 

 

 

*The bottle says peaches and pears and acidity.

Leave a comment